What Happened to My Internet?!?!

I have had possibly the most traumatic experience of my life over the weekend … my modem of 7 years finally packed in and snuffed it!

Why, you may ask yourself, was this so traumatic?

Well I am a child of the 80s and have a Dad who loves and adores technology. This means that I have grown up with the internet and have in turn watched it grow from my first eager steps into the world of CompuServe and AOL where you could communicate with others through the medium of chat rooms to the wonderful cornucopia of information that it is today. I have had the internet since I was 9 years old, I know nothing else. Not having the internet was like not having sight; it is debilitating and scary all at the same time.

Not being able to use my computer has made me realise that my reliance on it is fundamental to me being able to exist in today’s society; I read the news on-line, I use social media, I use it as a source of reference whenever I don’t know the answer to something, I use it to watch my favourite TV programmes and films, to download books I’d like to read to my Kindle, I use it to organise my finances … I even do my weekly shop on-line. Without it my world has been turned upside-down. I may as well have had no electricity, it was THAT bad.

Having had no internet access for the last few days has meant that I have spent considerably more time watching the television then I previously would have. In watching said TV, I have seen an number of adverts for Derren Brown’s new TV programme: Apocalypse, that is due to launch on Friday for a two-part mini series. For the benefit of my international readers, Derren is a master of the mind and is potentially one of the greatest torch-bearers of the concept of psychological manipulation. He makes you believe in that which is not real. As I have already mentioned, his new programme Apocalypse plunges one unsuspecting person into a simulated world whereupon they are lead to believe that the apocalypse is upon us. This itself is pure genius!

But what relevance has this to my lack of internet access? Well, a lot really as not only do I love Derren Brown, but I also have been lead to ponder what I would do in the case of an apocalypse. How would I survive? How would I protect my family? I think that I am far from prepared for the eventualities, regardless of how remote, of nuclear fallout or apocalyptic events.

Andy likes to watch a programme called Doomsday Preppers on the National Geographic Channel. Its essentially a programme about extremist families who seriously believe that the apocalypse is around the corner and they all want to be OTT prepared. It’s amazing that these people will go to such lengths to prepare their families to the point where it is all consuming and there isn’t a moment where they aren’t engaged in some form of preparation activity. This programme makes me realise that we need to live in the now and enjoy life rather than preparing for something that may never arrive.

So now that we have a modem again, all is right with the world. I can go on-line, write blog posts, order some shopping and all stress and anxiety has now been lifted. I also now have a medium through which I can distract my ever wondering mind, so random musings have been put on the back burner for a while. There will be no more thoughts of preparing for out of the ordinary eventualities ……. unless someone mentions zombies that is!

One response to “What Happened to My Internet?!?!

  1. I feel your pain! i had almost 4 days with no internet recently and to say i was distraught would be an understatement! So glad your back online and catching up with all you have missed ;-)

Leave a Reply

