Blackberries and Chutney

I love and hate blackberries at the same time. I love them because they are nature at its best and most appealing, they draw me in like amber nectar. I hate them because they hurt me, but I still can’t keep away. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve come home laden with blackberries, but bleeding from those paper cut-like abrasions that only brambles can give yet.

My husband is the worst when it comes to picking your own or foraging. He is like a child; picks one, eats one, picks one, eats one and so on. Its amazing that we actually get any at all when he’s picking!

We have our own “secret” place for blackberrying that we’ve been going to for the last few years. One year, we almost got attacked by a rather large, rather angry bull, but still we managed to get a fair crop in record time that year! I just love it, probably more than the kids do, but at least one of us gets some enjoyment out of it.

Anyway what is a Mum with 2Kg of blackberries going to do with them all? Make chutney of course (and eat some too, it would be rude not to). So, in honour of the start of the best season that Britain has to offer, here is my blackberry chutney recipe:

Ingredients

3tbsp Rapeseed Oil

3 Red Onions, finely chopped

9cm of Ginger, pealed and finely chopped

4 Red Chillies, finely chopped

1.5Kg Blackberries

135g Caster Sugar

100ml White Wine Vinegar

Method

1. Fry the onions, ginger and chilli in the rapeseed oil for 4-5 minutes, being careful not to let them brown.

2. Add the blackberries and boil for 3-4 minutes.

3. Add the sugar and the vinegar and simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring continuously.

4. Spoon the chutney into sterile glass jars immediately.

The best way I have found to sterilise the jars is to wash them in really hot soapy water, rinse them then place them in a pre-heated oven at 160 degrees centigrade for 5 minutes.

And here is a photo of the final thing. I feel all warm and squishy inside now that I know I’ll be able to enjoy these until next year. Now, where are my cheese sandwiches…

  

4 responses to “Blackberries and Chutney

  1. I think I like chutney more than jam. What a delicious combo of flavours. Thanks for linking up with us at No Ordinary Blog Hop. Every blessing, Kelly

  2. Such pretty pictures with your post! I like the flavor of the blackberry but the seed keeps me away. But I pick blueberries the same way your husband does the blackberries 🙂
    (I found you through the No Ordinary Blog Hop)

    • Hi Marty, thanks for stopping bye and the compliment! The photos were a bit of a rush job as a. the sun was setting and b. i only had the blackberries i’d frozen left, but i think the effect was really good in the end. I love blueberries too, but mine never seem to grow. Could be the dodgy UK climate.

Leave a Reply

